Diversity Officers

The MASU Chief Diversity Officer (CDO) Committee is comprised of the executives on campus that are responsible for ensuring diversity, equity, and inclusion is a realized priority on each campus. One of MASU’s newest committees, the CDOs are dedicated to creating public university campuses that look like Michigan and where all have opportunities for success. At their meetings, the committee engages in peer discussions of case studies, programming, and support for students and faculty.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the CDO Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the lens of diversity officers, with particular attention paid to campus climate and safety, student and personnel development, and judicial and administrative rulings.



Central Michigan University

Dr. A.T. Miller, Vice President & Chief Diversity Officer

Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

(989) 774-3700

a.t.miller@cmich.edu


Eastern Michigan University

Ms. Sharon Abraham, Director

Office of Diversity & Affirmative Action

(734) 487-1166

sharon.abraham@emich.edu


Mr. Steve Bryant, Director

Department of Diversity & Community Involvement

(734) 487-6790

sbryan16@emich.edu


Ferris State University

Dr. David Pilgrim, Vice President

Diversity and Inclusion Office

(231) 591-3946

pilgrimd@ferris.edu


Grand Valley State University

Dr. Jesse M. Bernal, (Chair) 

Vice President for Inclusion and Equity

(616) 331-3296

bernalje@gvsu.edu


Lake Superior State University

Mr. Derric Knight, Assistant Director of Housing and Diversity Officer

Campus Life

(906) 635-6244

dknight@lssu.edu


Michigan State University

Ms. Paulette Granberry Russell, Sr. Advisor to the President for Diversity and Director

Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives

(517) 353-3924

prussell@msu.edu


Michigan Technological University

Dr. Audrey Mayer

Assistant to the Provost for Academic Equity and Inclusion

(906) 487-2864

almayer@mtu.edu


Northern Michigan University

Dr. Jessica Cruz, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer

Office of Diversity and Inclusion

(906) 227-2000

jecruz@nmu.edu


Oakland University

Glenn McIntosh, Vice President for Student Affairs

150 Oakland Center

312 Meadow Brook Rd.

Rochester, MI 48309-4401
(248) 370-4200
mcintosh@oakland.edu


Saginaw Valley State University

Dr. Mamie T. Thorns, Chief Diversity Officer and Special Assistant to the President

for Diversity Programs

Office of Diversity Programs

(989) 964-4068

mtthorns@svsu.edu


University of Michigan

Dr. David J. Brown, Associate Vice President and

Associate Dean for Health Equity and Inclusion

Office for Health Equity and Inclusion

(734) 764-8185

ohei@umich.edu


Dr. Robert Sellers, Vice Provost for Equity, Inclusion, and

Chief Diversity Officer

Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

(734) 764-3982

rsellers@umich.edu


University of Michigan - Dearborn

Dr. Ann Lampkin-Williams, Special Counsel to the Chancellor for Inclusion

and Strategic Projects

Office of the Chancellor

(313) 593-5321

lampkin@umich.edu


University of Michigan - Flint

Dr. David J. Luke, Director

Intercultural Center

(810) 762-3045

djluke@umflint.edu


Wayne State University

Ms. Marquita Chamblee, Associate Provost, Diversity & Inclusion, Chief Diversity Officers

Office of Diversity and Inclusion

(313) 577-2200

mtchamblee@wayne.edu


Western Michigan University

Candy McCorkle, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion

(269) 387-6313

candy.s.mccorkle@wmich.edu