Chief Information Officers

The MASU Chief Information Officers (CIO) Committee consists of the senior information technology officers at Michigan public universities. Under this committee’s jurisdiction are all technological topics, including academic and research technology, student support technologies, communications, data security, daily operations, customer support, revenue streams, and industry partnerships. The CIO committee meets as a gathering of professionals to learn from one another and share best practices in public higher education IT administration.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the CIO Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the perspective of information technology officers, with particular attention paid to such issues as threat prevention and security, transparency and accountability, talent recruitment and retention, federal and state regulations, and industry standards.



Central Michigan University

Roger Rehm, Chief Information Officer

Warriner Hall 208

Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859

(989) 774-1474

roger.rehm@cmich.edu


Eastern Michigan University

Ron Woody, Chief Information Officer

127 Pray-Harrold

Ypsilanti, MI 48197

(734) 487-1491

rwoody@emich.edu


Ferris State University

Ralph Williams

Interim Chief Technology Officer

123 West Building

330 Oak Street

Big Rapids, MI 48307

(231) 591-2138

ralphwilliams@ferris.edu


Grand Valley State University

Sue Korzinek, Associate Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Information Technology

D-2-Mackinac Hall

Allendale, MI 49401

(616) 331-2035

korzines@gvsu.edu


Lake Superior State University

John Kawauchi, Vice President of Enrollment Management, Marketing & IT

650 W. Easterday Avenue

Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783

(906) 635-2674

jkawauchi@lssu.edu


Michigan State University

Fred Sudler, Acting Chief Information Officer

450 Auditorium Road, Room 400

East Lansing, MI 48824-1042

(517) 353-0722

cio@msu.edu


Michigan Technological University

Josh Olson, Chief Information Officer

1400 Townsend Drive

Houghton, MI 49931-1295

(906) 487-1217

jolson@mtu.edu


Northern Michigan University

David Maki, Chief Technology Officer

9E Cohodas Hall

1401 Presque Isle Avenue

Marquette, MI 49855

(906) 227-1262

dmaki@nmu.edu


Oakland University

Theresa Rowe, Chief Information Officer

University Technology Services

220 Dodge Hall

118 Library Drive

Rochester, MI 48309-4401

(248) 370-4326

rowe@oakland.edu


Saginaw Valley State University

Jim Maher, Executive Director

Information Technology Services

Wickes Hall 363

740 Bay Road

University Center, MI 48710-0001

(989) 694-2222

jmmaher@svsu.edu


The University of Michigan

Dr. Ravi Pendse, Vice President for Information Technology

and Chief Information Officer

5008 Fleming Building

503 Thompson Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1340

(734) 764-4262

rpendse@umich.edu


The University of Michigan - Dearborn

Carrie Shumaker, Interim Director of IT

Strategy and Operations

1140 Computing Wing

4901 Evergreen Road

1140 SBCW

Dearborn, MI 48128

(313) 593-5113

shumakr@umich.edu


The University of Michigan - Flint

Scott Arnst, Director

Information Technology Services

207 Murchie Science Building

303 E. Kearsley Street

Flint, MI 48502

(810) 762-3123

sarnst@umflint.edu


Wayne State University

Daren Hubbard, Chief Information Officer

Computing and Information Technology

5925 Woodward Avenue

Detroit, MI 48202

(313) 577-9489

daren@wayne.edu


Western Michigan University

Thomas Wolf, Jr., Chief Technology Officer

Office of Information Technology

1903 West Michigan Avenue, MS5206

Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5206

(269) 387-3855

tom.wolf@wmich.edu