Title IX Coordinators

The MASU Title IX Coordinators Committee is comprised of the federally-required campus officers charged with ensuring compliance with Title IX, the federal law that prohibits discrimination based on sex. Recently these officers have been best known by the general public for overseeing campus resolutions in cases of sexual assault. The state university Title IX Coordinators have responsibility for responding to allegations of sexual misconduct, dating violence, stalking, and similar issues, as well as sex-based discrimination. Rapidly evolving federal standards make this committee a very active group with regular meetings serving as an opportunity to share information and best practices.
                                                                 
As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the Title IX Coordinators Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the lens of Title IX, with particular attention paid to how such issues affect campus safety and culture.


Central Michigan University

Katherine Lasher, Executive Director

Office of Civil Rights and Institutional Equity, and Title IX Coordinator

Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859

(989) 774-3253

lashe1km@cmich.edu


Eastern Michigan University

Melody Werner, (Chair) Title IX Coordinator

Ypsilanti, MI 48197

(734) 487-3617

mwerner@emich.edu


Ferris State University

Joy Pufhal, Title IX Coordinator

Big Rapids, MI 49307

(231) 591-2088

joypufhal@ferris.edu


Grand Valley State University

Theresa Rowland

Title IX Coordinator and Equity Officer

Allendale, MI 49401

(616) 331-9530

rowlanth@gvsu.edu


Lake Superior State University

Wendy Beach, Director of HR, Risk & Safety

Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783

(906) 635-2387

wbeach1@lssu.edu


Michigan State University

Rob Kent, Interim Associate Vice President

Office of Civil Rights and the Title IX Education and Compliance

(517) 884-0610

robkent@msu.edu


Michigan Technological University

Kirsti Arko

Title IX Coordinator

Institutional Equity and Inclusion

Houghton, MI 49931

(906) 487-3310

karko@mtu.edu


Northern Michigan University

Janet Koski

Title IX Coordinator and Equity Officer

Marquette, MI 49855

(906) 227-2420

jakoski@nmu.edu


Oakland University

Chad Martinez

Title IX Coordinator

Room 120, Vandenberg Hall

502 Meadow Brook Rd. 

Rochester, MI 48309-4401

(248) 370-3496

chadmartinez@oakland.edu


Saginaw Valley State University

Mamie Thorns

Title IX Coordinator, and Special Assistant to the President for Diversity

University Center, MI 48710

(989) 964-4068

mtthorns@svsu.edu


The University of Michigan

Jeffery Frumkin, Associate Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs, Senior Director for

Institutional Equity and Interim Title IX Coordinator

Office of Institutional Equity

Ann Arbor, MI 48109

(734) 763-0235

jfrumkin@umich.edu


The University of Michigan-Dearborn

Pam Heatlie, Director

Office for Institutional Equity

Dearborn, MI 48128-1491

(313) 593-5190

pheatlie@umich.edu


The University of Michigan-Flint

Kirstie Stroble

Institutional Equity Specialist

Flint, MI 48502

(810) 237-6517

stroblek@umflint.edu


Wayne State University

Brandy Banks

Title IX Compliance Director

Detroit, MI 48202

(313) 577-2855

brandy@wayne.edu


Western Michigan University

Felicia Crawford

Director, Title IX Compliance

Office of Instutional Equity

1903 West Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5203

(269) 387-6323

felicia.crawford@wmich.edu