Legal Affairs Officers

The MASU Legal Affairs Officers (LAO) Committee is comprised of the chief legal officers representing each public university. The committee serves as a strong advisory body on a multitude of legal matters that involve virtually every type of issue affecting the institutions and every constituency with which they engage. The LAOs provide input to the association on an array of state and federal policy issues, with a focus on the implications and alignment of proposed state legislation with existing state and federal statutes, and the Michigan and U.S. Constitutions.

As with all MASU committees, during their meetings, members of the LAO Committee provides insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities.



Central Michigan University
Manuel Rupe, Vice President and General Counsel
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859
(989) 774-3971
rupe1mr@cmich.edu

Eastern Michigan University
Lauren London (Chair)
General Counsel
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 487-8079
llondon2@emich.edu

Ferris State University
Miles Postema, Vice President and General Counsel
Big Rapids, MI 49307
(231) 591-3894
postemam@ferris.edu

Grand Valley State University
Thomas A. Butcher, Vice President and General Counsel

4068 James H. Zumberge Hall
Allendale, MI 49401
(616) 331-2067
butchert@gvsu.edu

Lake Superior State University
Legal Affairs


Michigan State University

Brian Quinn, Acting Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel

426 Auditorium Road, Room 494

East Lansing, MI  48824

(517) 353-3530

quinnbri@msu.edu


Michigan Technological University

Sarah H. Schulte, General Counsel

1400 Townsend Drive

Administration Building 508

Houghton, MI 49931

shschult@mtu.edu


Northern Michigan University
Kurt McCamman, General Counsel

Miller Canfield
Marquette, MI 49855
(269) 383-5818

mccamman@millercanfield.com

Oakland University
Victor A. Zambardi, Vice President for Legal Affairs, General Counsel and Secretary to the Board of Trustees
203 Wilson Hall
Rochester, MI 48309-4401
(248) 370-3112
zambardi@oakland.edu

Saginaw Valley State University

John Decker, General Counsel

Wickes Hall 364

Saginaw, MI 48603

(989) 964-4612
jdecker1@svsu.edu


Ellen Crane, General Counsel and Director of Human Resources (Vice Chair)

(989) 964-4197

ecrane@svsu.edu


The University of Michigan
The University of Michigan-Dearborn & The University of Michigan-Flint
Timothy G. Lynch, Vice President and General Counsel
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1340
(734) 764-0305
timlynch@umich.edu

Wayne State University
Louis Lessem, Vice President and General Counsel
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-2268
louis.lessem@wayne.edu

Western Michigan University
Carrick Craig, General Counsel
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5423
(269) 387-1900
carrick.craig@wmich.edu