Extended Education and Professional Development Officers

The MASU Extended Education and Professional Development (EEPD) Committee represents one of the most innovative functions of public universities. These entrepreneurial officers are engaged in bringing education to groups beyond the “traditional” 18-22 year old student – working adults, online learners, retirees, and lifelong learners of all sorts. The EEPD Committee directs its attention to matters involving many topics in continuing education, including such issues as credentialing and educational attainment, workforce alignment, corporate partnerships, online learning, and regional competitiveness. In many ways, the EEPDs are the futurists of the academy.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the EEPD Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Contemporary higher education topics and trends are examined through the lens of extended education and professional development, with strategic consideration given to such factors as automation, innovation and educational technology, alignment between the academy and the workforce, and demographic change.




Central Michigan University
Al Zainea, Director of Academic and Professional Programs

Office of Academic Developmen

900 Tower Drive, Suite 100

Troy, MI 48098-2800

(248) 526-2648

zaine1aa@cmich.edu


Eastern Michigan University

Colleen Marks, Director 

Off Campus, Extended Programs
2250 Genoa Business Park Dr. #120
Brighton, MI 48114
(810) 225-0361 

cmarks@emich.edu

Bill Jones, Director

Instructional Technology and Information Management

101 Boone Hall, Room G01A

Ypsilanti, MI 48197

(734) 487-9043

wjones20@emich.edu


Ferris State University

Steve Reifert, Dean

Extended & International Operations

410 Oak Street, Alumni 117

Big Rapids, MI 49307

(231) 591-2548

stevereifert@ferris.edu


Justin Faris, Director

Capital Area Region

Lansing Community College University Center

210 W. Shiawassee

Lansing, MI 48901-7210

(517) 483-9723

justinfaris@ferris.edu


Grand Valley State University
Dr. Simone Jonaitis, Executive Director
301 West Fulton, 718 Eberhard Center
Grand Rapids, MI 49504
(616) 331-7360
jonaitis@gvsu.edu


Melissa Peraino, Director

Educational Outreach for the Center for Adult and

Continuing Studies

718 Eberhard Center, 301 W. Fulton Street

Grand Rapids, MI 49504

(616) 331-7180

perainom@gvsu.edu


Michigan State University
Kimberly Blair Chambers

Associate Registrar
180 Administration Building
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 355-9675
blairch4@msu.edu


Gerald S. Rhead

Director, Academic Entrepreneurship

Global Learning Solutions, Kellogg Center

1407 S. Harrison Road

301 Nisbet Building Room 312 C

East Lansing, MI 48824

(517) 432-9186

rhead@msu.edu

Northern Michigan University
Steve VandenAvond, Vice President for Extended Learning and 

Community Engagement

Cohodas Hall 603

1401 Presque Isle Avenue

Marquette, MI 49855
(906) 227-6767
svanden@nmu.edu

Oakland University

Lori Crose, Director

Strategies Programs/Continuing Education

440 J. Pawley Hall

456 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(248) 370-4861

llcrose@oakland.edu

Saginaw Valley State University
Harry Leaver, Director

Continuing Education & Professional Development

7400 Bay Road
University Center, MI 48710

(989) 964-7489
hlleaver@svsu.edu


The University of Michigan

Noni Korf, Director

Learning Experience Design & Media

Office of Academic Innovation

500 E. Washington, Suite B

Ann Arbor, MI 48104-2057

(734) 763-2900

korf@umich.edu


Wayne State University
Dr. Ahmad Ezzeddine, Associate Vice President

Educational Outreach and International Programs

5057 Woodward Ave., Suite 3101
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-4450
a.m.ezzeddine@wayne.edu


Michael Kelly, Associate Director

Executive & Professional Development

5057 Woodward Ave., Suite 3101

Detroit, MI 48202

(313) 577-6581

michael.kelly9@wayne.edu


Western Michigan University

Dr. Ed Martini, Interim Associate Provost of 

Extended University Programs

1903 West Michigan Avenue

Kalamazoo, MI 48808

(269) 387-4202

edwin.martini@wmich.edu


Andrew Holmes

Executive Director of Technology
1903 West Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 48008
(269) 387-4198
andrew.holmes@wmich.edu