Communications Officers

The MASU Chief Communications Officers (CCO) Committee consists of the chief officers at Michigan’s public universities responsible for university communications, public and media relations, marketing, and brand strategy. Included in this committee’s portfolio are all strategic communications topics, including media relationships, marketing, social media utilization, and crisis communications. The CCO committee meets as a gathering of professionals, many of whom are former journalists and reporters, to collaborate on issues of common interest, learn from one another, and share best practices in public higher education communications.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the CCO Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the perspective of communications officers, with particular attention paid to such issues as university trust and transparency, the shifting media landscape, helping the public understand the value of higher education, recruiting efforts, and connecting relevant research with the public.


Central Michigan University

Heather Smith, Interim Associate Vice President and Director of Communications

University Communications

Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859

(989) 774-1702

heather.smith@cmich.edu


Eastern Michigan University
Walter Kraft, Vice President, Communications
102 Welch Hall
Ypsilanti, MI 48197

(734) 487-6895

walter.kraft@emich.edu


Geoff Larcom, Executive Director, Media Relations

18 Welch Hall

Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734) 487-4401
glarcom@emich.edu


Ferris State University
Shelly Pearcy, Vice President for University Advancement and Marketing
Big Rapids, MI 49307
(231) 591-2065
shellypearcy@ferris.edu

Sandy Gholston, Manager, News Services and Social Media

Big Rapids, MI 49307

420 Oak Street, Prakken Building 108

(231) 591-2021
sandygholston@ferris.edu


Michelle Rasmussen, Communications Officer

Big Rapids, MI 49307

(231) 591-3965

michellerasmussen@ferris.edu


Grand Valley State University
Mary Eilleen Lyon, Associate Vice President for News and Information Services
260 Lake Michigan Hall
Allendale, MI 49401
(616) 331-2221
lyonme@gvsu.edu

Lake Superior State University

Sharmay Wood

Interim Director of Marketing & Communications

650 W. Easterday Avenue

Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783

(906) 635-2089

smwood@lssu.edu


Michigan State University
Emily Guerrant, Vice President and University Spokesperson

405 Olds Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 355-2281
emilyg@msu.edu

Heather S. Swain, Vice President for Communications and Brand Strategy
405 Olds Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 355-7958
heather.swain@cabs.msu.edu

Michigan Technological University
Dr. John B. Lehman, Vice President for University Relations and Enrollment

1400 Townsend Drive

Houghton, MI 49931

(906) 487-1832

jblehman@mtu.edu


Stefanie Sidortsova, Director of Communications and Public Relations
1400 Townsend Drive - Administration Building
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-1777
ssidorts@mtu.edu


Ian Repp, Director of University Marketing and Communications
1400 Townsend Drive - Administration Building
Houghton, MI 49931
(906) 487-2354
irepp@mtu.edu

Northern Michigan University
Kristi Evans, News Director
1401 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855
(906) 227-2720
kevans@nmu.edu


Derek Hall, Chief Marketing Officer
1401 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, MI 49855
(906) 227-2716
halld@nmu.edu

Oakland University

Brian Bierley

Director of Media Relations

(248) 370-4346

bierley@oakland.edu


Dave Groves, Asst. Director of Media Relations
Rochester, MI 48309-4401
(248) 370-2759
groves@oakland.edu


John O. Young, Associate Vice President
2200 N. Squirrel Road
Rochester, MI 48309-4401
(248) 370-2946
joyoung@oakland.edu


Saginaw Valley State University
J.J. Boehm, Interim Executive Director of University Communications (Chair)
389 Wickes Hall
University Center, MI 48710
(989) 964-4055
jjboehm@svsu.edu

The University of Michigan

Kallie Michels, Vice President for Communications

503 Thompson Street

2028 Fleming Administration Building

Ann Arbor, MI 48109

(734) 763-5800

Kallie@umich.edu


Rick Fitzgerald, Executive Vice President for Public Affairs

503 Thompson Street

1022 Fleming Administration Building
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

(734) 615-1563

rickfitz@umich.edu


The University of Michigan-Dearborn
Beth Marmarelli, Director, Communications and Marketing

4901 Evergreen Road - 1040 AB

Dearborn, MI 48128

(313) 593-5542

bethmar@umich.edu


Ken Kettenbeil, Vice Chancellor for External Relations
University of Michigan-Dearborn
4901 Evergreen Rd. 1040 AB
Dearborn, MI 48128-2406

(313) 593-5518
kketten@umich.edu

The University of Michigan-Flint
Bill Barker, Communications Strategist

University Communications & Marketing

(810) 237-6570

bpbarker@umich.edu


Wayne State University
Matt Lockwood, Director of Communications

Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-9098
mlockwood@wayne.edu

Western Michigan University
Tony Proudfoot, Vice President for Marketing and Strategic Communications
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
(269) 387-8412

tony.proudfoot@wmich.edu


Paula Davis, Executive Director of University Relations

Kalamazoo, MI 49008

(269) 387-8411

paula.davis@wmich.edu