Chief Librarians Committee

The MASU Librarians Committee is comprised of the Library Deans or Directors (LDs) at the public universities. The LDs met separately from MASU under the name of the Council of Library Directors until becoming an MASU Committee in 2018. The LDs are unique in that they are the only MASU committee with affiliate members beyond the 15 state universities, including the State Librarian of Michigan and the Executive Director of the Midwest Collaborative for Library Services. Committee meetings of the LDs involve sharing best practices on operations, collection management, contracting, and serving as a key support in the varied academic missions of their universities. Members of the LD Committee are particularly interested in finding ways to share their collections among each other to create an efficient and comprehensive body of knowledge for students, faculty, and the community.

As with all MASU committees, during their convenings, members of the LD Committee provide insight on the implications of current state and federal policy issues and fiscal dynamics affecting Michigan’s public universities. Traditional and emerging higher education topics and trends are considered from the lens of librarians, such as open educational resources, digitalization, access and copyright, public service, and preserving our shared history

Central Michigan University

Kathy Irwin, Dean of University Libraries

250 East Preston Street

Park Library 407

Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859

(989) 774-3500

Eastern Michigan University

Rhonda Fowler, University Librarian 

209B Halle Library

Ypsilanti, MI 48197

(734) 487-2587

Ferris State University

Jason Bentley, Dean of the Library

1010 Campus Drive

Big Rapids, MI 49307

(231) 591-3728

Grand Valley State University

Annie Bélanger, Dean, University Libraries

1 Campus Drive

Allendale, MI 49401

(616) 331-2621

Lake Superior State University

Marc Boucher, Director of the Library Academic Services

650 W. Easterday Ave.

Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783

(906) 635-2404

Michigan State University

Joseph Salem, Jr. University Librarian

366 West Circle Drive 

East Lansing, MI 48824

(517) 355-2341

Michigan Technological University

Josh Olson, Interim Director, University Library

1400 Townsend Drive

Houghton, MI 49931

(906) 487-2508

Northern Michigan University

Leslie A. Warren, Dean, Library and Instructional Support

205 Learning Resources Center

1401 Presque Isle Avenue

Marquette, MI 49855

(906) 227-2117

Oakland University

Mariela Hristova, Interim Dean

University Libraries

300A Kresge Library

100 Library Drive

Rochester, MI 48309

(248) 370-2464

Saginaw Valley State University

Anita Dey, Library Director

7400 Bay Road

University Center, MI 48710

(989) 964-4236

University of Michigan

James L. Hilton, University Librarian and

Dean of Libraries

818 Hatcher Graduate Library South

913 S. University Avenue

Ann Arbor, MI 48109

(734) 764-0400

University of Michigan-Dearborn
Maureen Linker, Interim Director
Mardigian Library
4901 Evergreen Road
Dearborn, MI 48128
(313) 593 -5445

University of Michigan-Flint

Robert Houbeck, Director of the Library

303 E. Kearsley Street

Flint, MI 48502

(810) 762-3018

Wayne State University

Jon E. Cawthorne, Dean of Library Systems

5150 Anthony Wayne Drive

Detroit, Michigan 48202
(313) 577-4020

Western Michigan University

Julie A. Garrison, Dean of University Libraries

1903 W Michigan Avenue

Kalamazoo, MI 49008

(269) 387-5202